All GTA Games Series in Order of Release Date!

By Himanshu Jain

Grand Theft Auto (GTA) is one of the most successful video game series ever created. The game has 17 Main Games divided into 2D, 3D and HD Universe.

All Image Credits: Rockstar Games

Grand Theft Auto

2D Universe

The First game of the GTA Series was released in 1997. GTA 1 features the city of Liberty City, San Andreas & Vice City. GTA 1 has two sequels: GTA Mission Pack #1  GTA Mission Pack #2

Grand Theft Auto 2

2D Universe

GTA 2 was released in 1999 and was set in a fictional city called Anywhere City.

Grand Theft Auto III

3D Universe

GTA III was released in 2001 and was based on the real-life New York City. The game has much-improved graphics, voice acting, and storyline.

GTA Vice City

3D Universe

Released in 2002, the game was set in Vice City, a city-based on Real Life Miami. This sequel to GTA III is technically a prequel (set in 1986) to the game, and to GTA San Andreas, which was released after GTA Vice City.

GTA San Andreas

3D Universe

Released in 2004, the game was set in the state of San Andreas, and featured 3 cities Los Santos, San Fierro, and Las Venturas based on Las Angeles, San Fransisco, and Las Vega respectively.

GTA Advance

3D Universe

GTA Advance was released in 2004 for Gameboy Advance. It has a similar style as GTA I and GTA II, as it shows the gameplay from a birds-eye view.

GTA Liberty City Stories

3D Universe

This is a prequel to Liberty City 1998, the game was originally released for the Playstation Portal in 2005.

GTA Vice City Stories

3D Universe

GTA Vice City Stories was released in 2006 for PS2, PS3, and PSP. It is the last game in the 3D Universe.


HD Universe

The game was released in 2008 for PS3, XBOX 360, and Windows. GTA IV is set in Liberty City and runs on a brand new Rockstar Advanced Game Engine. Later, two more episodes of GTA IV were released: 1. The Lost and Damned 2. The Ballad of Gay Tony

GTA Chinatown Wars

HD Universe

Chinatown Wars was released in 2009 and set in the Liberty City Triads. The Game was released for Nintendo DS, Android, iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch, and PSP. (Only for Handheld Consoles)


HD Universe

Released in 2013, the game was set in the year 2013 in a recreated Los Santos. It is the biggest open-world game developed by Rockstar. GTA V allows players to choose between three protagonists, Michael, Franklin, and Trevor.

GTA Online

HD Universe

GTA Online was released just after the 14 Days  of GTA 5 release. This is the Multiplayer title in the series.  The game doesn't have any storyline instead you play as a criminal and engage in many activities like Bank Robbery, Heist etc.